Shiva Trilogy by Amish Tripathi – Book Review

Book 1 – The Immortals of Meluha

Book 2 – The Story of the Nagas

Book 3 – The Oath of the Vayuputras

Genre – Indian Mythology

Ratings – 4.5/5⭐


Shiva Trilogy by Amish Tripathi is a journey of a man who became a Living God.

The idea of a mythology being converted to a tale, enhanced and beautified for a mass appeal was interesting.
Answering our thousands of questions, page by page, chapter by chapter, Amsih has made reading mythological books easier in a way that is relateable to every one.

Over and above all of these, a fresh mythological subject which is not Ramayana or Mahabharata gave us – the readers a fresh insight to a new, original and powerful tale. I was spell-bound and elated at its foundation, content and the way the events were portrayed.
This novel is clubbed with fiction that shows one of the mightiest Gods of Indian mythology – The Shiva, Mahadev – as a human being. The foundation is strong that relates to everybody and also sends out a message. The book is based on the belief that perhaps the actions, the deeds and karma are the only deciding factors in transforming an ordinary man to Mahadev – God of Gods.

Not only Shiva, but the book also mentions other related gods & goddess like Parvati, Ganesh, Parshuram as mortals who because of their deeds rose to the stature of gods. In the book Shiva is a Nomad from Mount Kailash, Tibet who travels to the Suryavanshi land of the Meluha. Soon he is named as Neelkanth, after a particular incident, and leads the Meluhan’s in their fight against the Chandravanshi. It is an insight into a man realizing his Karma and fate. Dealing with his demons and rising up to his name of Mahadev. Second part deals with the curses of caste, abnormalities & the secret of the Nagas. It highlights the dark side of human society.

The book also depicts the love story of Shiva & Parvati. The action sequences too have been narrated beautifully. The foundation, love and action, people and places, truth and myths, everything has been written to transpose the reader to the world of real Shiva. Overall, the author has paid much heed to the specifics involving lord Shiva.

Answering our greatest query and also those doubts of which questions we are yet to find, this trilogy will take you to the world where the reader will be able to discover sacred truths. It is a must read Indian mythological history.

Few quotes –

• Your destiny is much larger than these massive mountain.

• Sometimes the light played tricks in this part of the world.

• Some traditions are meant to be broken.

• Simple faith could lead to profound peace.

• That’s the purpose of desire. It is for creation and destruction. It is the beginning and the end of a journey. Without desire, there is nothing.

– Kinjal Parekh

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s